Here’s how the new WHO DG was elected at #WHA70


The next Director-General of the WHO has been elected at #WHA70, here’s how the election went.

On Tuesday, the Member States of WHO elected Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus as the new Director-General of WHO. Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus was nominated by the Government of Ethiopia, and will begin his five-year term on 1 July 2017.

HealthNewsNG gathered that in the first round, the votes were:

Dr Tedros 95 votes, Dr Nabarro 52 votes and Dr Nishtar 38 votes.

Since no candidate had 66%, there was  a second round, with just two candidates. That meant Sania NIshtar was out.

In the second round, Dr Tedros had 121 votes, while David Nabarro had 62 votes, with two abstentions. This meant Dr Tedros was just one vote short of 66%.

According to the rules, there had to be a third vote, with the winner chosen by a simple majority, which Dr Tedros achieved.


About Author

Paul is a freelance journalist, medical researcher and extensively published author. He holds a MSc degree in cell biology and genetics, and is a PhD candidate of the University of Ibadan.

Leave A Reply